The Commission

Ravneet Kaur

Mrs. Ravneet Kaur joined the Competition Commission of India as Chairperson on 23rd May 2023. She has rich and varied experience of working with Government of India and Government of Punjab for over 34 years as a member of the Indian Administrative Service. Her professional experience in the field of Finance, Accountancy and Budget matters includes assignments with Government of India in the Departments of Financial Services, Disinvestment and Economic Affairs and with the Government of Punjab in the Department of Finance and as Managing Director (MD), Punjab Infrastructure Development Board (PIDB), Director Treasuries and Accounts and Director Financial Resources & Economic Intelligence (DFREI). During this period, she was Government Nominee Director on the Boards of Small Industries Development Bank of India (SIDBI), Punjab National Bank (PNB), Export Import Bank of India (EXIM Bank) and Irrigation & Water Resources Finance Corporation (IWRFC) and also got an opportunity to work as Chairperson & Managing Director (CMD) of EXIM Bank and of India Infrastructure Finance Company Limited (IIFCL). During her stints in the Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion (now DPIIT) and previously as MD Punjab State Industrial Development Corporation (PSIDC), Vice-Chairperson & MD Punjab Communications Limited and in the State Government Department of  Industries & Commerce including as Director on the Boards of Jammu & Kashmir Development Finance Corporation (JKDFC), Punjab Financial Corporation and Punjab Alkalies & Chemicals Ltd; she acquired considerable experience in the fields of Industry, Business, Management and Competition related matters.

As CMD of India Tourism Development Corporation (ITDC); CMD Punjab State Transmission Corporation Limited (PSTCL); MD, Punjab State Civil Supplies Corporation (PUNSUP);Vice-Chairperson and National Project Director of UNDP funded  Research & Development Centre for Bicycle & Sewing Machine; Institute for Machine Tools Technology and Institute for Auto Parts Technology; Executive Director, Northern India Institute of Fashion Technology and as Vice-Chancellor Punjabi University; she has performed leadership roles in various fields giving her valuable insights and knowledge of Corporate Affairs, Business, Management and Operations in the diverse areas of tourism, power transmission, food and public distribution, education and skill development. This was coupled with experience in Public Policy and Administration as Special Chief Secretary/Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary in the Departments of Revenue, Rehabilitation & Disaster Management, Cooperation, Forests & Wildlife, Labour, Food Processing, Power, and Education. She has worked in quasi-judicial capacity throughout her career as Adjudicating, Appellate, Reviewing and Revisional Authority.

Mrs. Kaur is a recipient of many Awards/ Medals during her academic and professional career including President of India’s Census Silver Medal and ISAW Women Achievers Award at ITB Berlin. She has done M.A. in Economics from Punjab University Chandigarh and M.Sc. in Public Economic Management from University of Birmingham, UK. She was also a Hubert Humphrey Fellow at Cornell University USA and thereafter worked with the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) at Washington DC as a Collaborator.

Anil Agrawal

Shri Anil Agrawal belongs to the 1988 batch of IPS. He superannuated in April 2023 as Director General Police from Uttar Pradesh cadre. He has joined as Member of the Competition Commission of India on 19th September, 2023.

A Civil Engineer from BITS Pilani, he started his career as a software engineer in 1984, writing civil engineering application software.

He has served as the Additional Secretary to the GoI at DPIIT, where he handled some of the flagship schemes of Govt of India including Make in India, Investment Promotion, Startup India, e-commerce, Internal Trade, production linked incentive (PLI) schemes, technical regulations, several industrial sectors like consumer and light engineering industries including toys, white goods, leather, cement and paper; and international cooperation with select geographies. 

He has steered the flagship Startup India program from its infancy to give it a firm institutional framework. He has also pioneered conceptualization and institutionalization of 'Open Network for Digital Commerce' for democratizing e-commerce.

He was instrumental in designing and implementing the successful Production Linked Incentive Scheme for White Goods (Air Conditioners and LED Lights).

Previously, at UP Police, he conceptualized and commissioned world’s largest emergency response system- UP100 (now UP 112) for providing prompt emergency services to 250 million citizens anytime, anywhere in the State of UP.  This implementation has been recognized amongst top innovations in the country during Civil Services Day 2018: PM Awards for Excellence in Public Administration and Innovations.

He has served as Chief of Police (SSP/SP) of many important districts in UP- Lucknow, Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Ayodhya, Mainpuri, Shahjanpur, Farrukhabad among others; and the UP Special Task Force (STF). He has earned Hon’ble Supreme Court’s commendation for diligent enforcement of law.

He is an awardee of the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and Police Medal for Meritorious Service apart from many other commendations. He has been conferred the BITS Pilani Distinguished Service Award in 2023.